Skip to main content

Fees and funding

During your studies, you will first enrol at your Home University, the institution where you will spend your first and second semester. In the third semester, during the mobility window, you will also need to enrol at your partner university.

As a result, fees and mobility costs may differ for each student, depending on your chosen pathway. However, this should not discourage you from joining the programme. At NeurotechEU, we are committed to supporting your individual journey and will keep you informed about available funding opportunities.

Below, you will find some initial information to get started. For further details and the most up-to-date options, please visit Campus+ [www.nteucampus.org].

How to read this page

  • Each university below has the same rows: who pays which fee, tuition, administrative fees, monthly living costs, the academic year and the sources.
  • Amounts are shown as the partner universities supplied them, in the original currency and unit. A label shows where the source does not state the unit or the academic year.
  • Amounts change. Check the university’s own website before you plan your budget.

1.8.1 Estimated living expenses

All listed living costs depend on your housing, transportation, and daily expenses. As a student, you can usually benefit from discounts at various local services and venues, so be sure to check the website of your chosen university for more details.

Nijmegen, Netherlands

Radboud Universiteit

Fees and costs in Nijmegen
Who pays which feeDutch and EU/EAA students are eligible to statutory tuition fees; Non-EU/EEA students must pay institutional tuition fees.
TuitionStatutory tuition fees: approx. 2600 € for one academic year for a full-time study programme.
Institutional tuition fees: 14393 € Unit not stated
Administrative and service feesHandling fee for application to English programmes: 75 €
Monthly living costsEU/EEA students: 1000 € to 1500 € per month (including tuition fees).
Non-EU/EEA students: 2300 € to 3700 € per month (including tuition fees).
Academic yearNot stated
Sourcesru.nl costs and expenses; studyinnl.org

Elche, Spain

Universidad Miguel Hernández de Elche

Fees and costs in Elche
Who pays which feeThe registration fee for non-EU students is double that for the EU incoming students.
TuitionTuition fees may vary every academic year according to the Valencian Government. The estimated tuition fee is 35,34€ per ECTS the first time. If the student fails, the fee increases to 56,51€ per ECTS for subsequent times. For non-EU students, the fee is double that of EU students.
Administrative and service fees
  • Issuance of an official Master's degree certificate: 212.07€
  • Opening of an academic record, either for starting studies in a centre or for transfers, along with the issuance of academic transcripts: 27.34€
  • Certification of documents: 10.69€
  • Issuance of the European Diploma Supplement, only for graduates with degrees other than Bachelor's or Master's whose degree does not include the European Diploma Supplement: 35,15€
  • If needed, equivalency of foreign degrees for admission to Master's or PhD studies, for foreign graduates without a validated degree: 155.22€
Monthly living costsTotal (min-max estimation): 650-1000 € Unit not stated
  • Housing, the most variable expenditure: a room in shared housing costs between €180 and €350; living alone in a flat or a university residence costs between €450 and €900.
  • Food: between €140 and €200 per person per month.
  • Utility bills (water, electricity, gas and Internet): between €70 and €90 monthly.
  • Public transport: a single city bus ticket costs €1.35. Passes for ten journeys are priced at €8.00 (or €6.00 for students), and a 25-trip pass costs €25.60.
  • Students should budget an additional €150 for other miscellaneous personal expenses.
Academic yearNot stated Tuition may change every academic year.
SourcesNo link in the source Ask the Elche contact.

Bonn, Germany

Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Fees and costs in Bonn
Who pays which feeEstimated living costs as well as administrative and service fees apply equally to EU/EEA and non-EU/EEA citizens.
TuitionNone.
Administrative and service feesSemester fee: approx. 345 € per semester (may vary each semester).
Monthly living costsAround 800 € to 1200 € per month.
Academic yearNot stated
Sourcesuni-bonn.de costs; study-in-germany.com

Boğaziçi, Türkiye

Boğaziçi Üniversitesi, Istanbul

Fees and costs at Boğaziçi Üniversitesi
Who pays which feeEstimated living costs apply to all; tuition fees differ for Turkish and international students.
TuitionInternational students: 500$ per semester (1,000$ per year) for undergraduate and graduate programs (intl.bogazici.edu.tr).
Turkish-citizen students: fees are set in TL by faculty/program every year and the university publishes a table (ogrenciler.bogazici.edu.tr). As an example, the tuition and fee were 836,25 TL per semester for graduate studies in 2025-2026.
Administrative and service feesApplication handling fee for graduate programs: 50 €
Monthly living costsThe cost of living in Istanbul would be around €1000 for a modest lifestyle. Unit not stated
  • Housing is more expensive than earlier years and could go up to €250 to €300 per month in older apartments near campus for shared options. Private rentals vary widely and can be higher.
  • Food: around €250.
  • Local transport: about €100 (student-discounted Istanbulkart; usage-dependent).
  • Books and incidentals: around €150 to €200.
  • Health insurance is required for internationals; the cost depends on the insurance plan.
Academic yearTurkish-citizen example: 2025-2026. Other amounts: not stated
Sourcesintl.bogazici.edu.tr; ogrenciler.bogazici.edu.tr

Cluj, Romania

Universitatea de Medicină și Farmacie “Iuliu Hațieganu” Cluj-Napoca

Fees and costs in Cluj-Napoca
Who pays which feeEstimated living costs as well as administrative and service fees apply equally to EU/EEA and non-EU/EEA citizens.
TuitionThe annual tuition fees are €1500 (both EU and non-EU students). Tuition fees are set annually by the university, according to existing national legal provisions. Specific terms of payment are in place, and delays might incur penalties. Tuition fees can be paid in full or in two equal installments: the 1st installment is due until the first half of October, and the 2nd installment until the second part of February.
Administrative and service fees
  • Application fee: €300
  • Enrollment fee: 150 lei, paid in local currency (Leu/RON), equivalent to ≈ €30
  • Re-examination fee: 100 lei, paid in local currency (Leu/RON), equivalent to ≈ €20 (EU students)
  • Fee for second defense of Master thesis: 300 lei, paid in local currency (Leu/RON), equivalent to ≈ €60
Euro equivalents are approximate; conversion date not stated
Monthly living costs€6-800/month, including accommodation, food and transportation. Amount being confirmed

Students can find accommodation either in the university dormitories or on the local rental market (higher prices). University facilities are within walking distance from student campus, nevertheless, transport alternatives include cycling, public means (buses, trams), or by car. Students benefit of lower rates for public transport fares (monthly/yearly subscriptions). The university canteen is highly popular among students because it serves healthy meals at reasonable prices. There is a wide variety of super- and hypermarkets, fresh produce markets (city centre and neighbourhoods), as well as the bi-weekly markets with products from local/regional farmers.

Health insurance is free for all international students upon the presentation of university matriculation proof to the County Health Insurance House. For basic primary care services students can rely on the University Medical Offices (regular operating hours).

Academic yearNot stated Tuition is set every year.
SourcesNo link in the source Ask the Cluj contact.

Lille, France

Université de Lille

Fees and costs in Lille
Who pays which feeEstimated living costs apply to all; registration fees differ according to the citizenship of the student and whether the student holds a resident card.
TuitionRegistration fees (“droits d'inscription”) are paid on an annual basis per academic year. Even if the academic year is divided into two semesters, semestrial registration is not possible.
  • French and intra-community citizens and residents (EU member states) and of EEA countries, Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco and the Province of Québec in Canada: 254€ for the A.Y. 2025-26
  • Extra-community citizens who register for the first time at the University of Lille in a Master's degree: 254€ for the A.Y. 2025-26
  • Differentiated registration fees for other international students: 3.941€ for the A.Y. 2025-26
Administrative and service feesThe Student Life and Campus Contribution (CVEC) is paid on an annual basis per academic year, prior to registration, online at cvec.etudiant.gouv.fr. For the A.Y. 2025-26, the amount is 105€.
Monthly living costsAccording to the annual report by the UNEF French student union, Lille ranks 19th in the list of most expensive cities in France for students, with an estimated monthly cost of living for a student of 1.220,32€.
Academic year2025-26 Earlier academic year, check current amounts
Sourcescvec.etudiant.gouv.fr

Reykjavík, Iceland

Háskólinn í Reykjavík

Fees and costs in Reykjavík
Who pays which feeEstimated living costs apply to all; tuition fees differ for EU/EEA and non-EU/EEA citizens.
TuitionFees are from 3284 € per semester for EU/EEA citizens and 7600 € for non-EU/EEA Unit for non-EU/EEA not stated (see also ru.is/en/namid/um-namid/skolagjold).
Administrative and service feesApplication fee of 16.000 ISK for non-EU/EEA citizens. For successful applicants, this fee goes towards their tuition fee.
Monthly living costsFood and household equipment are estimated at around 67.000 ISK per month. Accommodation is estimated to cost from 115.000 ISK per month.
Academic yearNot stated
Sourcesru.is tuition fees; for a more detailed breakdown of costs, the island.is cost-of-living calculator and reykjavik.instructure.com

Mobility grants for the obligatory mobility semester will be provided by the partners through the Erasmus+ programme.

Who can help?

For questions about fees or funding at a specific university, contact that university through university contacts, or ask your Local Academic Mentor.